View Full Version: WARNING! Userbars.org

Die Hard Baseball > News Archives > WARNING! Userbars.org



Title: WARNING! Userbars.org


oeshbach? - February 6, 2006 10:18 AM (GMT)
The other day I went to Userbars.org at home and I didn't get any warning about viruses. I went there today at work and the antivirus program went nuts, saying there was a malicious file. Obviously the antivirus program at my work is going to be ten times better than mine at home. So I would have to say that this site has something attached to it that is malicious.

So I am going to remove the tags I got from there and I plan on never visiting that site again. You might want to do the same.
-oeshbach

TheHugeUnit - February 6, 2006 03:15 PM (GMT)
I really doubt you can get a virus from having a tag, or did you get rid of them so your not advertising that site?

Franchise835 - February 6, 2006 03:22 PM (GMT)
well ill be fine, since i know how to make them :P

oeshbach? - February 6, 2006 03:23 PM (GMT)
Its not really just having the tag, it is visiting the site.

TheHugeUnit - February 6, 2006 03:28 PM (GMT)
QUOTE (oeshbach @ Feb 6 2006, 10:23 AM)
Its not really just having the tag, it is visiting the site.

Ya i don't think im going back there i asked for a james bond one and they said do you have any pictures, *SOBs*

oeshbach? - February 6, 2006 04:02 PM (GMT)
It might not be anything but I would rather not going to a site that I got that reaction from an antivirus program.

TheHugeUnit - February 6, 2006 04:05 PM (GMT)
QUOTE (oeshbach @ Feb 6 2006, 11:02 AM)
It might not be anything but I would rather not going to a site that I got that reaction from an antivirus program.

I noticed a pop-up window coming up on the site since about yesterday morning maybe that has somethign to do with it *idunno*

oeshbach? - February 6, 2006 04:18 PM (GMT)
Yeah, the programs that my work use are extremely sensitive to attacks and threatening sites.

kyyankgrrl - February 6, 2006 10:20 PM (GMT)
Do you think I'll be ok if I just never go back? 3 of my 4 bars came from there!!! :(

oeshbach? - February 6, 2006 10:21 PM (GMT)
I don't know. Probably.

kyyankgrrl - February 6, 2006 10:31 PM (GMT)
Thanks for the heads-up, anyway!! I may dump the ones I got from there after all.


oeshbach? - February 6, 2006 10:35 PM (GMT)
I thought I saw a post that said there was another site. I don't remmeber where it was though,

kyyankgrrl - February 6, 2006 10:39 PM (GMT)
Userbars.com. That's where I got my Sopranos one, I think. The rest came from Userbars.org.

oeshbach? - February 6, 2006 10:44 PM (GMT)
oh

kyyankgrrl - February 6, 2006 10:50 PM (GMT)
Userbars.com doesn't have a Yankees bar.....that's the one I really, really don't want to give up!!! :(

oeshbach? - February 6, 2006 10:54 PM (GMT)
I am sure if you leave them you will be fine.

kyyankgrrl - February 6, 2006 10:57 PM (GMT)
Ok

oeshbach? - February 6, 2006 11:03 PM (GMT)
I would just remove them if your computer starts slowing down alot or it starts acting weird.

braveschopbraves - February 6, 2006 11:06 PM (GMT)
You could save the picture (Right click on the userbar and save as...) and then host it on your own ;) (Through photobucket or image shack *beer*

warriors fan - February 6, 2006 11:33 PM (GMT)
man, im glad i got mine from userbars.com


*checks too see if thats true*


well, i was wrong, but i have no trouble with my computer, i did a scan for virus/spyware yesterday...are you sure its not just your computer and where you go?

braveschopbraves - February 6, 2006 11:34 PM (GMT)
QUOTE (warriors fan @ Feb 6 2006, 03:33 PM)
man, im glad i got mine from userbars.com


*checks too see if thats true*

You got yours from userbars.org :P

warriors fan - February 6, 2006 11:44 PM (GMT)
QUOTE (braveschopbraves @ Feb 6 2006, 03:34 PM)
QUOTE (warriors fan @ Feb 6 2006, 03:33 PM)
man, im glad i got mine from userbars.com


*checks too see if thats true*

You got yours from userbars.org :P

Yes, but there is nothing wong with my computer :P

TheHugeUnit - February 7, 2006 09:02 PM (GMT)
I think they fixed the site the pop-up that can up doesn't come up anymore and the page is running faster now

Twins Fan - February 20, 2006 07:15 PM (GMT)
Have we decided if the site is safe or not? Because I have never been on there, but I would like to check it out and add some tags to my signature.

braveschopbraves - February 20, 2006 07:16 PM (GMT)
QUOTE (Twins Fan @ Feb 20 2006, 11:15 AM)
Have we decided if the site is safe or not? Because I have never been on there, but I would like to check it out and add some tags to my signature.

You can go there ,it's fine *beer*

oeshbach? - February 20, 2006 07:19 PM (GMT)
Yeah, THU found out that it was a bad pop-up program that they were testing.

Twins Fan - February 20, 2006 08:31 PM (GMT)
Okay, thanks so much!

Anyway, even if there were viruses on there, my computer has really advanced antivirus protection, so it would pick it up! :)

RedRuffing15 - February 20, 2006 10:49 PM (GMT)
This may be irrelevant, but I just went to it, and mine went off tooo

oeshbach? - February 20, 2006 10:54 PM (GMT)
I am still not going to go through but you guys can do what you want.




Hosted for free by InvisionFree